top of page
  • Writer's pictureSwati

The Frosty Christmas


The best time of the year is here! Writing this blog while it's all cozy and wintry with snow outside my window.


If you know me, you know that Christmas has always been special to me, and each year I enjoy it to the fullest. This year's Christmas is going to be different. It's not going to be as usual with the same Christmas decor and my mandatory rituals - my favorite wine cake! I am definitely going to miss it.


But as it is said, change can be beautiful, and I am up for it. And isn't it about experiencing new things and creating new memories?


This Christmas, I am taking in every feeling and experience. From the snow, to the city decked up with Christmas lights, Christmas decor, and prepping cookies, to the Christmas cheer in the air.


It feels like a dream, but also at home. The cold, snowy vibes, but the warm, festive vibes of Christmas. A feeling, a frame of mind. Christmas has a way to make everything look better and merry around.



This time I put my Christmas tree up a bit early. Last Christmas, I wanted rose gold decorations, but they were unavailable. So this time, when I found something similar, I didn't miss a chance to get it.


And then Christmas is not complete without baking, so I am prepping cookies and chocolates. The Christmas movie binge goes without saying. However, for a change, for this Christmas I bought a book to read - I heart Christmas and am currently reading it. I completed everything on my to-do list by visiting the Christmas market and strolling around the city to see the Christmas lights!


While I am soaking in every moment, and everything here may look picturesque and perfect, there is a feeling of missing something.  Staying away from home, I am definitely missing the true essence of Christmas - spending time with my loved ones. Each year, they also join me in celebrating Christmas.


As rightly said, "The best gift around the Christmas tree is the presence of the family wrapped in love."


This year everything looks different. While I wished to visit some of the places back home for Christmas, I am not doing it again this year. While I wished we were together, we are miles apart again. While I wished to keep the Christmas spirit high, I feel like I am not in the entire happy spirit.


On the other hand, I realize that not every Christmas has to be the same. It's a great time to reflect and comprehend what matters to me. To be grateful for all that I have right now and for all the beautiful things that can be.


No matter where I am, as long as Christmas is in my heart, and all the love around, Christmas will be wonderful even if it looks different and distant.


Nothing specific this time, but I am just going to enjoy all the festive moments, unwrapping white Christmas and reflect on the coming year. Spending time - connecting virtually with my loved ones, and my absolute favorite things to do.

Slow down and take it one moment at a time.



Wishing you,


"The light of the Christmas star to you. The warmth of home and hearth to you. The cheer and goodwill of friends to you."


Merry Christmas and Happy new year!


Lots of love,


Swati

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page